Snyder/Capullo’s final bow? Last Knight on earth #1 short review!

It’s not often I re-read a book twice in 24 hours not only because I want to but because I need to! That seems to be the case a lot of the times with Snyder’s work which makes him such a unique writer! This issue comes in 4 chapters as I read through each chapter I just had more and more questions come the end of each one! The team had a bit of freedom on the story with this being a black label title and they have utilised it so well as it feels like a mystery horror title!

It starts as any normal Bats issue but gets really interesting as we report on a massive chalk outline of a dead Batman all leading to the alley in which the Wayne’s were shot for him to find a boy the age he was the time to horrifically rip out a gun and shoot him down!

Going from what seems to be a post coma Bruce awakening in Arkham to try and be told he never was Batman even though he has all the memories (reminded me of a reverse bloom story) but instead all in his head to discovering a post apocalyptic world that has been destroyed and taken over by ‘Omega’ who raises enough questions alone!

Throw in Snyder’s version of Joker with the amazing dialogue but his head only in a red lantern (reminiscent of the Joker originally being the red hood story) the interaction between the two characters is as great as ever!

With the little boy at the beginning being in the same spot as Bruce’s parents died does this mean someone who knows Batman’s real identity put this all in motion?

Another huge question is one the narrator talking to the writer through this story, over 48 pages I got curve balls threw at me to who I thought I was and come the last page I think I have my answer but I’m still not 100% sure!!


Genius to keep the reader invested!

A great mystery beginning as what I’ll call an ‘Act 1’ I couldn’t be more invested! Also worth mentioning Capullo’s art is as best as it’s ever been! Snyder and Capullo on Batman are relentlessly perfect! We are onto another classic in my opinion! I will be counting down days until book 2!

My rating – 9.5/10